Bookmark and Share

Iran Parliament approves Tofiqi as new Science Minister


Iran's parliament (Majlis) on Wednesday overwhelmingly approved Ja'far Tofiqi Darian as the new minister of science, research and technology, IRNA reported from Tehran.

Tofiqi received 163 votes in favor and 27 votes against from a total vote of 198.

There were also eight abstentions, and five MPs refused to participate in the voting. Two hundred and three MPs were present in Wednesday's open session of the Majlis.

Tofiqi, 48, holds a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Bucharest Polytechnic University.

He has already served as a lecturer at Tehran's Tarbiat Modarres University and deputy science minister for education affairs. Tofiqi, who will replace Mostafa Moin, was selected as Iran's Exemplary Lecturer in 1997.

He has also been chosen as the top researcher of Tarbiat Modarres University in 2001 and 2002.

President Mohammad Khatami in August accepted Moin's resignation. He accordingly appointed Moin as his advisor and introduced Reza Faraji Dana to the Majlis to replace him.

However, the Majlis did not approve Faraji Dana for what some MPs believed his lack of political experience.

Khatami last week introduced Tofiqi as the new candidate for the post of science minister.

© Copyright 2003 (All Rights Reserved)