Bookmark and Share

Iran's Kiarostami to receive 2003 Berlin Academy of Arts Prize


Famous Iranian film director Abbas Kiarostami will be this year's recipient of the Berlin Academy of Arts' prestigious Konrad-Wolf Prize, a press statement, released by the academy, announced Saturday, IRNA reported from Berlin.

The jury cited Kiarostami's much acclaimed movies as the reason for their choice.

The prize is named after the late German filmmaker Konrad Wolf who headed the former East German Academy of Arts.

Past laureates of the film award include other internationally renowned film directors like Volker Schloendorff, Ken Loach, Margarete von Trotta, Christoph Marthaler and Agnes Varda

© Copyright 2003 (All Rights Reserved)