Iran News ...


Iran's Parliament approves division of Khorassan province

Tehran, April 17, IRNA -- Members of Parliament (Majlis) approved here Saturday a plan to divide the vast northeastern province of Khorassan into three smaller provinces.

After discussing the plan in an open session on Saturday, the Iranian MPs finally agreed that the vast province, located from the very northeast of Iran to the east of the country, be divided into three smaller provinces.

The new provinces will be the Northern Khorassan, with the northeastern city of Bojnourd as its capital, Southern Khorassan with the eastern city of Birjand being its capital and finally the Razavi Khorassan (attributed to Imam Reza /AS/) with the present provincial capital city of Mashhad to be its capital.

For a long time Iran's Parliament has been debating the plan to divide Khorassan province.

The approval by the Iranian Parliament will increase the number of Iran's provinces to 30.

... Payvand News - 4/17/04 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2004 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)