Iran News ...


Iran's "We Are All Good" wins Locarno's Silver Leopard

TEHRAN, Aug. 14 (Mehr News Agency) -- The Iranian film "We Are All Good" directed by Bijan Mir-Baqeri has won a Silver Leopard at the 58th Locarno International Film Festival.

The festival was opened with "We Are All Good" in the southern Swiss town on August 3. The film is about a family whose son Jamshid lives abroad. The family decides to make a film about their life situation to send to Jamshid. Omid, the younger son, rents a camera and records scenes of family members talking to the camera.

Ahu Kheradmand, Mohsen Qazimorad, Parviz Shahinkhu, Leyla Zareh, Melika Emami, and Ali Rashvand star in the film.

"We Are All Good" won the Best Film Editing and Best Supporting Actress Crystal Simorghs at the 23rd Fajr International Film Festival in Tehran last February.

The Locarno festival, which ended on August 13, awarded Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami the Leopard of Honor for the poetic elegance and powerful moral philosophy of his works.

Following is the list of the main prizes awarded at the 10-day Locarno International Film Festival in southern Switzerland which ended on Saturday.

* Official selection:

* GOLDEN LEOPARD: "Nine Lives" directed by Rodrigo Garcia (United States)

* JURY'S SPECIAL PRIZE: "Un Couple Parfait" ("A Perfect Couple") by Noburohiro Suwa (France/Japan)

* SILVER LEOPARD (second best film): "Fratricide" by Yilmaz Arslan (Germany/France/Luxembourg)

* SILVER LEOPARD (best first and second feature film): "3 Grad Kaelter" ("3 Degrees Colder") by Florian Hoffmeister (Germany) and "We Are All Good" by Bijan Mir-Baqeri (Iran)

* BEST ACTRESS (joint): Glenn Close, Holly Hunter, Sissy Spacek, Robin Wright Penn, Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrilo, Lisa Gay Hamilton and Armanda Seyfried in "Nine Lives"

* BEST ACTOR: Patrick Drolet in "La Neuvaine" ("The Novena")

* SPECIAL MENTION: "The Piano Tuner of Earthquakes" by the Quay brothers (Britain/Germany/France)

* Overall:

* PUBLIC'S PRIZE: "Zaina, cavaliere de l'Atlas" (Zaina, Rider of the Atlas) by Bourlem Guerdjou (France/Germany)

* INTERNATIONAL PRESS (FIPRESCI) JURY'S PRIZE: "A Perfect Day" by Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige (France/Lebanon/Germany)

* ECUMENICAL JURY'S PRIZE: "La Neuvaine" by Bernard Edmond (Canada)

* VIDEO COMPETITION GOLDEN LEOPARD: "Les Etats Nordiques" ("The Nordic States") by Denis Cote (Canada) and "Masahista" by Brilliante Mendoza (Philippines).

... Payvand News - 8/14/05 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2005 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)