Bookmark and Share

Visa issued for foreign tourists in 10 Iranian airports


Tehran, 13 April 2006 (CHN) -- Cabinet ministers passed an act according to which foreign tourists who want to travel to Iran can get a 15-day visa from 10 international airports in Iran. Prior to this, a 7-day visa was issued for foreign tourists in 6 international airports of Iran but this time it has extended to 15 days in 10 airports.

"Based on to the recent approval of the cabinet ministers, foreign tourists who come to Iran will have the chance to receive a 15-day visa from 10 international airports. The 15-day visas will be issued in Imam Khomeini, Mehr Abad, Mashhad, Isfahan, Shiraz, Tabriz, Asalouyeh, Boushehr, Qeshm and Kish Island international airports," said Reza Jafarzadeh, Head of Public Relations of Iran's Civil Aviation Organization.

With submission of a ticket which indicates the departure date from the country and a passport which is valid for 6 months to the representative of Iran's Foreign Ministry in the transit lounge of the airport, foreign visitors can receive a 15-day tourist visa, which can as well be extended to one month before the expiration of the visa by referring to the Foreign Ministry of Iran.

"Based on this approval, representatives from the Foreign Ministry and Police Department will be present in the transit lounge of the airports and will issue Iran's visa as soon as possible. Of course some cases need to be inquired about from Iran's Information Ministry, which will take no more than an hour," explained Jafarzadeh. He believes that this new policy will facilitate traveling to Iran for foreign tourists.

Citizens of 68 countries who bear regular passports can use this service without need to apply to the embassy of the Islamic Republic of Iran in their homeland and get their visa on the spot in international airports of Iran. If for some reason, the visa could not be issued for some tourists, the Cultural Heritage and Tourism Organization of Iran is obliged by law to pay for their return to their countries.

However, the 15-day visa is not issued for citizens of a limited number of countries including the Czech Republic and England in Europe, the US, Canada, Argentina, and for citizens of refugee-accepting countries who are originally from Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya, and Algeria.

© Copyright 2006 (All Rights Reserved)