Iran News ...


20 artists chosen for Tehran sculpture symposium

TEHRAN, Dec. 4 (Mehr News Agency) - On Sunday, the selection board of the first Tehran International Sculpture Symposium chose 20 Iranian and foreign artists to participate in the event.

The sculptors are to create artworks during the symposium, which is to be held from February 20 to March 12, 2007.

Parastu Ahun, Homayun Sabeti-Motlaq, Sahand Hessamian, Mohammadreza Zabihollahzadeh, and Kurosh Naqdipur have been selected as the Iranian participants while Daryush Mokhtari and Mohammad Mehdi will be the Iranian substitutes.

The foreign artists invited to the event are Marco Wong from Peru, Marovino Luca from Italy, Ferial Kheradpicheh and Bert Van Loo from the Netherlands, Serkan Demir and Varol Topac from Turkey, Aeneas Wilder, Alan Waters, and Malgorzata Bialek from Britain, Ali Jabbar Hussein from Iraq, Dalibor Nikolic and Mensud Keco from Bosnia, Thomas Lindsey from the United States, Daniela Bershan from Germany, and Li Dongliang from China.

The selection board also chose Jan Timmer from the Netherlands, Majid Jammoul from Syria, Patrick Demazeau and Laetitia de Bazelaire from France, and Yang Jinhuan from China as the foreign substitutes.

Parviz Tanavoli, Mehdi Hojjat, Gholamreza Ebrahimi-Dinali, Abbas Kiarostami, and Victor Daresh studied works by 219 foreign and 175 Iranian sculptors before making the final decision on the invitees.

The jury will select eight artists as the top sculptors at the end of the symposium, which is being organized by the Tehran Municipality Art and Culture Organization.

... Payvand News - 12/4/06 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2006 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)