Iran News ...


David Rahni, bestowed with Outstanding Service Award


Pace University, Pleasantville, New York- Professor David N. Rahni was bestowed with the Outstanding Service Award of the American Chemical Society (ACS) New York section at the annual conference held at Pace University on Saturday January 21. The award recognizes his continued gratis leadership since the early 80’s for the advancement of the chemical profession and enterprise, and chemistry outreach and education, as exemplified by having served as the Chair of the ACS New York (2000), member of the Executive Board (1998-2001), Member and Chair of the prestigious Nichols Medal in Chemistry (2000-2005), and the General Chair of the ACS Middle Atlantic Regional Meeting (1997). American Chemical Society, chartered by Congress in 1885, is a professional society dedicated to the advancement of the chemical enterprise and education with a worldwide membership of 160,000 and an annual budget approaching half a billion dollars.


Professor David N. Rahni

Professor Yorke Rhode of New York University, the Chair of the Award Committee (right above) cited those specific attributes, namely, very successful fund raising and communicative skills and his profound impact on chemistry albeit science education and research possessed by Professor Rahni. Dr. Jill Rehman (left above) of St. Joseph College who is currently succeeding David Rahni as the 2006 Chair of the ACS New York, cited some of the more successful programs, instituted by Rahni, that have served the educational, scholarly and corporate chemical community.


David N. Rahni is Professor of Chemistry at Pace University, Pleasantville, New York.  He was the founding Director of Pace University’s graduate program in Environmental Science. In addition, he has served as adjunct professor in both the LL.M. Environmental Law Program at Pace University School of Law and the Department of Dermatology at New York Medical College, as well as a senior medical research associate at CUNY Medical School (Harlem, New York).  Dr. Rahni has served as a member of the Board of Editors for the Forensic Science Communications, a premier journal in support of law enforcement (published by the FBI). He was elected the 2000 Chair of the American Chemical Society (ACS) New York, and served as a member of its Board of Directors (1999-2001). Dr. Rahni has served as chair of the Jury for Nichols Medal, the oldest and most prestigious chemistry medal in the Nation. He has been the recipient of the 2000 Algorithm Scientific International Award, endowed by many agencies including the UNDP, UNESCO and the Third World Academy of Sciences. He was selected the 1996 Distinguished Scientist by the ACS Westchester Section, and the ACS Outstanding Service Award (2006). Honored with a J. William Fulbright Senior Research Scholarship at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) and visiting professorship at the University of Oxford, UK, He was also awarded a visiting professorship to DTU by the Royal Danish Research Academy (summer 1994), where he offered a workshop on surface characterization methodologies in manufacturing engineering.   He has held visiting scientist positions with the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center and Ciba-Geigy Research Division, and has lectured at or visited the II University of Rome, the University of Florence, the National University of Mexico, the Universities of Southampton, Leeds, Loughborough and London, also at the University of Copenhagen, and the Danish Orsted Institute. He has also served as a visiting United Nations TOKTEN Scholar in the third world, presenting lectures and assisting in curriculum development.


Professor Rahni earned his Ph.D. and completed postdoctoral studies in Analytical Chemistry at the University of New Orleans, his M.S. at Eastern New Mexico University, and his B.S. at the National University.  He has published extensively in such diverse fields as immobilized enzyme electrochemical sensors for clinical, environmental and industrial assays, in vivo microvoltammetric measurement of neurotransmitters in brain, electrodeposition of thin-film compositionally-modulated alloys and metal multi-laminated nano-structures for sub-micro-electronic and micro-mechanical applications, in-situ pH and other key measurements in the diffusion layer of the cathode during the electrodeposition of metals, process engineering, the direct and indirect electrochemical investigation of oxidoreductase enzymes and proteins and their surface interactions, asymmetric synthesis and   mechanistic studies of congested heterocyclic phosphorous, sulfur, germanium, selenium and tellurium compounds, environmental sciences and law, sustainable development, and science education.  A recipient of Pace University’s Kenan Award for Teaching Excellence, David Rahni has organized, and chaired numerous workshops and symposia, as typified by his fundraising and program leadership for the ACS Nichols Medal Symposium and Banquet. More recently, he serves as a Member of Fulbright Fellowship Review Board and on its Senior Specialist Roster, review member of the National Institute of Health panels, and has co-organized and co-hosted the Centennial Celebration of Rockefeller University and its designation as a national historic Chemical Landmark. He was the General Chair and Host for the 31st ACS Middle Atlantic Regional Meeting. His other contributions include past membership on the Environmental Advisory Council for the U.S. 20th Congressional District Representative, Nita M. Lowey, his leadership role as a founding member & President in Partners for Sustainable Development, Board Member of Federated Conservationists of Westchester County and the co-organizer of the NYS wide Initiatives for Economic Development and Climatic Change Conference and Rene DuBos Annual Conference on Automobile, Energy and Societal Impact.


For complete CV please go to

Pleasantville, NY 10570

... Payvand News - 1/30/06 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2006 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)