Iran News ...


Indonesia Issues Visa-on-Arrival for Iranians

The government of Indonesia has decided to enlist Iran as a country whose citizens enjoy the visa on arrival facility to visit Indonesia.

Tehran, 24 May 2006 (CHN) -- Iran and Indonesia are determined to promote their tourism relations by creating visa facilities for the tourists of both countries. Government of Indonesia has announced that Iranian citizens do not require visa in advance and they can obtain their entrance visa at Indonesian international airports.

This new law is based on the regulation of the Minister of Law and Human Rights on Amendment of the Decision of the Minister which was approved in 2003 on visa on arrival. This decision was made following the previous negotiations between Iranian and Indonesian authorities on this issue. A memorandum of understanding for tourism cooperation was signed between Iran and Indonesia by Indonesia's Minister of Trade and Industry and Iran's Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance of that time in November/December 2002.

According to the embassy of Indonesia in Tehran, the new regulation will shorten the previous time consuming procedure of visa issuance for the Iranians who want to visit Indonesia. "It is expected that the regulation can shift the so-called conventional bilateral relations between Indonesia and Iran into a new phase of unlimited ties, and particularly to boost the flux of tourists and businessmen of both countries," says the Embassy of the Indonesia in Tehran in its announcement.

Last year government of Iran passed a similar policy according to which Indonesian people could enjoy visa on arrival to visit Iran for the maximum stay of 14 days.

There are 39 countries who will benefit from this new regulation including: Iran, South Africa, USA, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, United Arab Emirates, Finland, Hungary, India, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Germany, Canada, South Korea, Kuwait, Luxemburg, Maldives, Egypt, Norway, Oman, France, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, China, Russia, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, New Zealand, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, and the Netherlands.

In addition, Iran is also one amongst 14 countries which have bilateral agreements with Indonesia concerning visa exemption for the diplomatic and service passport holders. The agreement was signed during the visit of Iran's Foreign Minister and Director General of Iran's Cultural Heritage and Tourism Organization to Jakarta on 27 February 2006 to pursue the case of tourism cooperation between Iran and Indonesia according to the memorandum of understanding signed previously between the two countries and it has come into force since April 2006. Other countries which have similar agreements with Indonesia are Vietnam, Myanmar, Laos, India, Croatia, Mongolia, Peru, Cuba, Serbia-Montenegro, North Korea, South Korea, Turkey, Cambodia, and People's Republic of China.

According to the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia in Tehran, the fee of the visa on arrival for a 7 day visit is 10 US dollars and for the 30 day visit is 25 US dollars.

... Payvand News - 5/25/06 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2006 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)