Iran News ...


Five Iranian wrestlers among Asian Games torchbearers

TEHRAN, Nov. 8 (Mehr News Agency) - Five renowned wrestlers were Wednesday named to join other sportsmen who carry the 15th Asian Games torch here Thursday.

Mohammad-Ebrahim Seifpur, Reza Sukhteh-Saraii, Alireza Heidari, Abbas Jadidi, and Hamid Surian are the picked wrestlers.

The torch carried by the official ambassador of the Doha 2006 Torch Relay, Qatar's Prince of the State Sheikh Joaan Bin Hamad Al-Thani in a lantern from the relay plane, arrived in Mashhad, the capital of northeastern Khorassan Razavi Province, Monday afternoon.

It was flown to Isfahan where 119 people, including sportsmen, artists, war veterans, and six Qatari athletes from Menar Jonban monument to the "Unknown Martyrs Graveyard" in the mountainous south of the 2006 cultural capital of the Islamic world, reported IRNA.

Nasrollah Sajjadi, the head of Iranian teams in Qatar, will be the first official to start carrying the torch in the Tochal ski resort in northern Tehran and the next torchbearers will be the four-time world and twice Olympic +105 kg weightlifting gold medalist Hossein Rezazadeh, legendary keeper Ahmad-Reza Abedzadeh, world taekwondo champion Hadi Saii, and former national and Persepolis skipper Mohammad Panj'ali.

The torch, which is wind-resistant at speeds of up to 60 kilometers an hour, symbolizes the desire to merge and light anew the spirit of competition and friendship throughout Asia, organizers said.

It has traveled the furthest in its history this year -- 50,000 kilometers and through 15 countries across the region.

After the Tehran relay, the flame will be flown to Salalah, Muscat, Sohar in Oman; Hatta, Sharjah, Dubai, and Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates; Kuwait City, Manama (Bahrain) and back to Doha for the kickoff of the Games that will be held from December 1-15.

... Payvand News - 11/9/06 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2006 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)