Iran News ...


Winners of 8th Mehregan Literary Awards honored

TEHRAN, Dec. 4 (Mehr News Agency) -- The award presentation ceremony of the 8th Mehregan Literary Awards was held at the Honar Cultural Center on Monday evening.

The secretary of the event Alireza Zargar made a short speech in which he remarked that the organizers of the event had intended to hold the ceremony in a small town, far away from the traffic congestion and air pollution of Tehran, but it had not been possible.

He also expressed his thanks to the sponsors of the Mehregan Awards including Shokuh Fargah and Akram Taherpur. He said he hoped that Iranian literature would flourish in the next decade in the same way as it had done in the 1960's.

Zargar went on to say that in the children's literature section, no winner was to be announced due to the small number of works submitted. He said he hoped that next year there would be a larger number of entrants and winners would be chosen in this category.

In the science for all section, Hushang Ziaii was honored for his great endeavors in safeguarding the country's environment and writing a guidebook on the desert mammals of Iran.

Hushang Ziaii

Ziaii then made a short talk requesting that Iranian authors should write more about the environment and how to preserve it, adding, "There are many rare species in Iran whose role in nature is irreplaceable."

The Mehregan literature award went to Ali-Ashraf Darvishian. Due to the writer's inability to walk, the award was presented to Darvishian's wife by the renowned female writer Simin Behbahani.

Darvishian, who was seated amongst the audience, expressed his pleasure at receiving the award and added that he was content just to be alive and able to attend such ceremonies.

Many writers, poets, and translators including Mahmud Dolatabadi, Media Kashigar, Goli Taraqi and Asadollah Amraii also attended the ceremony.

... Payvand News - 12/05/07 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2007 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)