Iran News ...


Interfaith Peace Committee Call for Talks With Iran

Source: Interfaith Peace Committee


Now that we know that Iran is not making nuclear weapons, the God of peace and justice calls on Americans and Iranians to choose a full peace with each other-not dither any longer between peace and war. For as the Prophet Elijah cried out, "How long will you keep hopping between two opinions? Choose!"

God calls us to choose Peace-because, as the Bible teaches, every human being is made in the Image of God, and as the Quran teaches, to kill one human being is to destroy the world; to save one human being is to save the world.

To choose Peace-because both the Bible and the Quran teach we must always act to protect the poor; yet as President Eisenhower said, "Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired signifies, in the final sense, a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed." In America, millions are suffering from this theft; in the world, billions. And the cost of the war to the US alone is now estimated at two trillion dollars.

To choose Peace-because it is shameful in the eyes of God for Christians, Jews, and Muslims to incite hatred against each other. This hatred leads to war, and then war becomes a justification for more hatred. In each of our communities, there are some who peddle hatred and incite violence. We must all turn away from such idolatry.

To choose Peace-because hatred, violence, and threats of war undermine the very liberties and human rights that most Americans and Iranians prize, and benefit only those who thirst for power, not for justice.

We call upon the Government of the United States to end all actions, threats, plans, or support for war against Iran.

We call upon the Supreme Religious Authorities of Iran to end all threats against the existence of Israel and all denials of the historical truth of the Nazi Holocaust, and to make clear that Iran will not support violence against civilians by its own or other forces, and to reaffirm for the future their prohibition of any effort to seek nuclear weapons for Iran.

We call upon the governments of both nations at once to open direct talks on all issues of mutual concern, looking toward a mutual peace.

And we call upon the American government to move forward in the spirit of humility and generosity, rather than arrogance and domination, toward a broad peace settlement in the entire Middle East, including an end to the occupation of Iraq, peace between Israel and Palestine and all other states in the region, and a major international effort to protect human rights and promote grass-roots economic development in the region.

We call upon the peoples of the world to support this call, for the sake of conscience and survival.


Affiliation for identification only, except where noted with an asterisk :

Rabbi Leonard Beerman, Rabbi Haim Dov Beliak, HaMifgash Foundation
Imam Mahdi Bray, Exec Dir, on behalf of *Muslim American Society Freedom Foundation
Larry Bush, Editor, Jewish Currents
Rev. Dr. Joan Brown Campbell
Rev. Tony Campolo, Ph.D., Eastern University
Sister Joan Chittister, OSB, director, on behalf of * Benetvision
Rabbi Hillel Cohn, Rabbi Emeritus, Congregation Emanu El
Jeffrey Dekro
Rabbi Elliot Dorff, Rector, American Jewish University
Rev. Bob Edgar, President & CEO, Common Cause
Rabbi Ted Falcon, Bet Alef Meditative Synagogue
Rabbi Michael Feinberg
Rabbi Roberto Graetz
Gary Ferdman
Rabbi Joshua Levine Grater, Pasadena Temple & Center
Jerome Grossman, Chairman Emeritus, Council for a Liveable World
Rabbi Geoff Huntting, Temple Sinai, Sarasota, Florida
Mark C. Johnson, Exec Dir, on behalf of *Fellowship of Reconciliation
Rev. Clifton Kirkpatrick, Stated Clerk, Presbyterian Church (USA)
Deb Kolodny, Exec Dir, on behalf of *ALEPH: Alliance for Jewish Renewal
Rabbi Michael Lerner, Editor of Tikkun, on behalf of the *Network of Spiritual Progressives
Elizabeth A. Letzler
Rabbi Mordechai Liebling
Rabbi Rebecca Lillian
Rabbi Ellen Lippmann
Ingrid Mattson, President, on behalf of *Islamic Society of North America
Sheila Musaji, Editor, The American Muslim
Jim Rice, Editor, Sojourners magazine
Rabbi Or N. Rose, Associate Dean, Rabbinical School of Hebrew College
Rabbi Brant Rosen, Jewish Reconstructionist Congr, Evanston IL
past president, Reconstructionist Rabbinical Assn.
Rabbi Jeffrey Roth
Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Shalomi
Max Samson
Rabbi Gerald Serotta, chair, Rabbis for Human Rights/North America
Rabbi David Shneyer, President, Ohalah (Assn of Rabbis for Jewish Renewal)
Director, Am Kole
Rev. William G. Sinkford, President, on behalf of *Unitarian Universalist Association
John H. Thomas, General Minister and President, United Church of Christ
Rick Ufford-Chase, Executive Director, on behalf of the *Presbyterian Peace Fellowship
Rabbi Arthur Waskow, Director, on behalf of *The Shalom Center
Rabbi Sheila Peltz Weinberg, *Institute for Jewish Spirituality
Rev. Jamie P. Washam
Jim Winkler, General Secretary, General Board of Church and Society, United Methodist Church
Bishop Gabino Zavala, Pres. Pax Christi USA, & Aux. Bishop, Archdiocese of Los Angeles
Phyllis Albritton
Abdul Cader Asmal
Rabbi Chava Bahle
Rabbi Philip Jay Bentley
Leonard Bjorkman
Daniel Bort
Rev. Rich Broderick
Addison Bross
Rev. John Buehrens
Sylvia Campbell
Steve Clemons
Neil Comess-Daniels
Marilyn Condon
Marie Conn
Mirabel Deming
Barbara Ditommaso
Renata Dobryn
Ruth Dombrow
Anita Farber-Robinson
Mike Ghouse
Sallie & Alan Gratch
Rev. Nina Grey
Bill & Tess Hageman
Jamie Hamilton
John Hart, PhD
David & Linda Head
Jeanette Hyde
Rev. Harold A. Jackson, Jr.
Rev. Kathryn Johnson
Rabbi Paul Joseph
Mitchell Kamen
Howard Kaplan
Debby Kern
Rivko Knox
William Koenig
Wendy Kohli
Allan Lindrup
Linda Maloney
Jean Maryborn
Bernie Meyer
Anne Mulderry
Cantor Steven Puzarne
Douglas Renick
Sister Megan Rice
Charlie Roemer
Ruth Rosenblum
Kohenet Mei Mei Miriam Sanford
William Savedoff
Sara Schaffzin
Joel & Elaine Schipper
Rabbi Chaim Leib Schneider
Cantor Eric Schulmiller
Gordon Shull
Lillian Sigal
William Slavick
Rev. Kate Stevens
Dolores Taller
Barbara Troxell
Michael Weinberg
The Rev. Dr. Wilson Yates
H. Berrien Zettler
Cathy Zheutlin
Rabbi Michael Zimmerman
IOWA SUPPORTERS: (partial listing)
American Friends Service Committee/Iowa
Catholic Peace Ministry
Rev. Chester Guinn, United Methodist
Rev. Carlos Jayne, United Methodist
Bob Brammer
Diane Krell, United Church of Christ
Jean Basinger
Betty Christensen
Rev. Larry Sonner, United Methodist
Bud Kilman
Rev. Carmen Lampe Zeitler. American Baptist
Vernon H. Naffier, Board President, Progressive Coalition of Central Iowa
Rev. Kathleen Clark, United Methodist
Gayle V. Strickler, Jr., United Church of Christ Clergyperson
Rev. Robert S. Crandall, Director, Bidwell Riverside Center
Board of Church & Society, Iowa Annual Conference, United Methodist Church
Jack Hatch, Iowa State Senator
Rev. Gene Matthews
Rev. Hugh Stone, United Methodist
Rev. Wayne Shoemaker, United Methodist
Elaine Hagedorn, CHM
Jeanie Hagedorn, CHM

... Payvand News - 12/20/07 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2007 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)