Iran News ...


Association of Iranian Journalists honors five journalists

Source: The International Journalists' Network (IJNet)

The Association of Iranian Journalists (AIOJ) honored five outstanding Iranian journalists in Tehran on World Press freedom Day, May 3. Firouz Gouran, Ahmad Reza Dariayi, Shahla Sherkat, Abdolali Rezai and Abbas Abdi received the awards for their professional accomplishments in the field of journalism.

Attended by a number of journalists and media personalities, the ceremony was led by Iran’s head of New Communications, Dr. Kazem Motamed- Nejad. Journalist Alireza Raja also talked at the event and read a message from the head of UNESCO.

The award ceremony began with a message from the UN Secretary General, Ban Ki-moon who spoke of the value of press freedom. Mohammad Rajai Moghadam, director of the U.N. information center in Tehran read the message from Ban Ki-moon.   

Last year, the AIOJ awarded five journalists, among them, Massoud Behnoud, Akbar Ganji and Leila Rastegar.

The association hopes to continue to work on behalf of Iranian journalists and to 
make the award ceremony an ongoing event each year.

For more information, visit Association of Iranian Journalists and Rooz online, or see the full text of UN Secretary General’s message.


... Payvand News - 5/8/07 ...

... Payvand News - 5/8/07 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2007 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)