Iran News ...


Fajr Film Festival: Crystal Simorghs presented to international section winners

TEHRAN, Feb. 8 (Mehr News Agency) -- Winners of the international section of the 26th Fajr International Film Festival were announced on February 7 at the Aseman Cultural Center.



Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance Mohammad-Hossein Saffar Harandi, Deputy Culture Minister for Cinematic Affairs Mohammadreza Jafari-Jelveh, and members of the jury attended the ceremony.


In a short speech at the ceremony, Sinternational affar Harandi highlighted the importance of the Islamic world's cinema and spiritual films which deal with the truth in the modern world.



The special Moustapha Akkad Award went to Syrian director Ghassan Shmeit for his film "ID". The award is presented for the best foreign movie on the theme of hope and faith.


Following is a list of winners of the Crystal Simorgh, which is Iran's most prestigious cinematic award:



Eastern Vista Section (Competition of Asian Cinema)


Best film: Waiting in the Dark (Japan 2006), produced by Katsuyuki Oana and Shunsuke Koga


Best director: Reza Mirkarimi for "So Simple" (Iran 2008)


Best screenwriter: Reza Mirkarimi and Shadmehr Rastin for "So Simple"



Seeking the Truth (Competition of Spiritual Cinema)


Best film: "The Island" (Russia 2006), produced by Pavel Lungin


Best director: Takashi Koizomi for "The Professor and his Beloved Equation" (Japan 2006)


Best screenwriter: Mohammadali Ahangar and Mohammadreza Gohari for "Child of the Soil" (Iran 2008)


Special Jury Award: "Music Box" (Iran 2008), directed by Farzad Motamen


World Panorama (International Competition)


Best film: "The Wind Blows through the Grassland" (Iran 2007-2008), produced by Khosro Masumi


Best director: Semih Kaplanoglu for "Egg" (Turkey, Greece 2007)


Best screenwriter: Francisco Vargas for "El Violin" (Mexico 2006)


Best actor/actress: Galina Vishnevskaya in "Alexandra" (Russia 2006)


Best short film: "L.H.O." (Germany 2007), produced by Knuth Sorgers


Best technical and artistic achievement: cinematographer zgr Eken for the "Egg"


Special jury award: "Very Well Thank You" (France 2007), produced by Paulo Branco



Audience favorite Crystal Simorgh: "1408" (USA 2007), directed by Mikael Hfstrm


Audience favorite honorable mention certificate: "Canaan" (Iran 2008) directed by Mani Haqiqi

... Payvand News - 02/08/08 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2008 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)