Iran News ...


Ahmadinejad releases full list of his cabinet nominees

Ahmadinejad Cabinet Looks Set For Rough Ride In Iran's Parliament

Indications are that Iranian President Mahmud Ahmadinejad will have a tough time getting parliamentary approval for his new cabinet list, which has just been submitted to the assembly.

Ahmadinejad submitted the list to parliament overnight, and the assembly has 10 days to consider it before it goes to a vote on August 30. But some senior members of parliament have already made clear that they are unhappy with some of the names on the list.

TEHRAN, Aug. 20 (Mehr News Agency) - In a letter to Majlis Speaker Ali Larijani late Wednesday, President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad released the names of 21 proposed ministers for parliamentary approval in the tenth administration.


Three women candidates are among the proposed ministers. The parliament is given about one-week time to assess the qualifications of the cabinet nominees.


Seven ministers in the ninth administration - including Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki, Economy Minister Mohammad Hosseini, and Defense Minister Mostafa Mohammad Najar, but this time as interior minister - have been re-nominated in Ahmadinejad's new cabinet.


The list of the 21 ministerial nominees is as follows:


1. Sousan Keshavarz: education minister

      --PhD in philosophy of education and deputy education minister;


2. Reza Taqipour: communications minster

      -- MS in industrial engineering and former managing director of Iran's telecommunication industries company;


3: Haidar Moslehi: intelligence minister

      --Supreme Leader's representative to Revolutionary Guards Corps and National Charity Organization director;


4: Shamsodin Hosseini: economy minister

- Economy minister in the ninth administration, PhD in economy, secretary of economic reform plan's working group and head of administration's economic committee;


5: Manouchehr Mottaki: foreign minister

      --Foreign minister in the ninth administration, MP in the first and the seventh Majlis, former ambassador to Japan and Turkey, and former deputy foreign minister for international affairs;


6: Marzieh Vahid Dastjerdi: health minister

      --Gynaecologist, MP in the fourth and fifth Majlis;


7: Mohammad Abbasi: cooperative minister

      -- Cooperative minister in the ninth administration, PhD in management, and MP in the seventh Majlis;


8: Sadeq Khalilian: agriculture minister

      --PhD in economy of natural resource, a faculty member of Tarbiat Modares University, and deputy agriculture minister;


9: Hamid Behbahani: transport minister

      --Transport minister in the ninth administration, PhD in civil engineering and former head of Civil Engineering College of Iran, University of Science and Technology;


10: Fateme Ajorlou: welfare and social security minister

   -- MP in the sitting and previous parliament and PhD student in educational psychology;


11: Ali Akbar Mehrabian: industries and mines minister

      --Minister of industries and mines in the ninth administration and former presidential advisor;


12: Kamran Daneshjou: science minister

      --PhD in Aerospace, deputy interior minister, Interior Ministry election commissioner in the June presidential election, former governor general of Tehran;


13: Mohammad Hosseini: culture and Islamic guidance minister 

      --A faculty member of the University of Tehran, MP in the fifth Majlis and former deputy science minister;


14: Abdolreza Sheikholeslami: labor minister 

      --PhD in civil engineering, former presidential advisor and head of presidential office, and faculty member of Iran University of Science and Technology;


15: Mostafa Mohammad Najar: interior minister

      -- Defense minister in the ninth administration and holds an MA in administrative management;


16: Ali Nikzad: housing and urban development minister

--Ardebil governor general and head of Housing and Urban Development Organization of Ardabil Province;


17: Masoud Mirkazemi: oil minister

      -- Commerce minister in the ninth administration, PhD in industrial engineering, and Shahed University chancellor;


18: Mohammad Ali-Abadi: energy minister

      --Vice president and head of Physical Education Organization in the ninth administration;


19: Morteza Bakhtiari: justice minister

      --Isfahan governor general and a former director of the State Prisons Organization (SPO);


20: Ahmad Vahidi: defense minister

      -- Deputy defense minister and chairman of the Expediency Council political and defense committee; and


21: Mahdi Qazanfari: commerce minister

      --Deputy commerce minister and director of the Trade Development Organization of Iran.

... Payvand News - 08/20/09 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2009 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)