Iran News ...


Assembly of Experts begins annual meeting; Rafsanjani reelected chairman

Tehran, March 10, IRNA - The fifth official meeting of the 4th Assembly of Experts of the Leadership started its work in Tehran on Tuesday to select the new members of its presiding board.

Chairman of the Expediency Council Ayatollah Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani was re-elected as Chairman of the Experts Assembly for the second successive year.

Rafsanjani won the assembly's chairmanship by 51 votes out of the total 79, while his rival Ayatollah Mohammad Yazdi secured only 26 votes.

The Assembly of Experts is an influential body in charge of appointing the Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution and monitoring his performance.

Members of the 86-seat body are normally elected for 8 years. The last election of the assembly was held on December 15, 2006.

Based on the current law the assembly is required to meet at least two days, twice a year.

In addition to the election of members of its presiding board, participants of the gathering are also to select members of its commissions during their two-day discussions.

Rafsanjani is the second chairman in the assembly's history, succeeding Ayatollah Ali Meshkini, who passed away on July 30, 2007.

Meanwhile, Ayatollah Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi and Ayatollah Mohammad Yazdi were elected as first and second vice-chairman of the assembly, respectively.

Ayatollah Qorban-Ali Dorri Najafabadi and Ayatollah Ahmad Khatami were also elected as secretaries of the body.

... Payvand News - 03/10/09 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2009 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)