Iran News ...


Noavaran Ensemble to perform in New York

The newly formed Noavaran Ensemble will be performing a masterful new composition by the renowned Iranian-American Composer, Mr. Gregory H. Aslani. The composition is a fusion of Contemporary Music and Classical Persian Music. 

Katayoun Moosazadeh

Date: March 5, 2010
Time: 6:30 PM (Discussion) 7:30 PM (Concert Begins)
Location: Main Concert Hall at Adelphi University (see map)

For more information and tickets, please go to the event site on the Noavaran Ensemble website.


The program includes three world premiere performances and one New York premiere by four distinguished composers:

The world premiere of Beyond Solitude, by Iranian-American composer Gregory H. Aslani. The work will feature the guest performance of the Noavaran Ensemble, specialists in Persian classical and folk music. Beyond Solitude is based on the juxtaposition of the traditional Persian and contemporary Western musical sounds. What begins as a dialogue of two traditions concludes as a fusion of musical ideas and performance styles.

The world premiere of Seven Meditations on Tibet for flute, harp and guitar by American composer/arranger/conductor Carman Moore.

The world premiere of a new work for solo guitar by American composer Richard Brooks.

The New York premiere of Aforismo for guitar and bass flute by the Master Argentinean composer Alfredo del Monaco.

There will also be three other performances at the same event, following Beyond Solitude, performed by virtuosic contemporary musicians of Flute, Harp and Guitar.

Homayoon Beigi

Beyond Solitude

  • Composer: Gregory H. Aslani

  • Persian Classical Arrangements: Homayoon Beigi

  • Poetry: Davood Rahni and Saadi

  • Style: Fusion of Contemporary Music and Persian Classical Music

  • Performers:

Noavaran Ensemble:

Homayoon Beigi, Tar
Katayoun Moosazadeh, Voice
Nicolas Chbat, Percussion
Paul Aljian, Tombak and Daf
Babak Taleghani, Poetry Recital

Contemporary Style Musicians:

Linda Wetherill, Flute
Susan Jolles, Harp
William Zito, Guitar

  • Persian Classical Modes: Avaz-e Dashti, Dastgah-e Shur, and Dastgah-e Chahargah

Synopsis (by Davood Rahni):

Inspired by his life-long integration of Eastern and Western cultural experiences, Greg Aslani has composed this musical piece as played through the dialogue of the two groups of performers. Persian sound (Iranian traditional microtonal scale) and Western contemporary sound are synergistically intertwined to create a peaceful ambiance of Persian music and the message of peace.

During the first interlude, thirteen minutes in duration, flute, harp and guitar trio create a bridge between the East and the West. Persian music is then progressively played by Tar, Tombak, Daf, percussion and vocal performance of the Noavaran Ensemble ( in conjunction with the recital by Babak Taleghani of a poem by Davood Rahni. The latter performance is interspersed with flute, harp and guitar. The finale is a true convergence of both ensembles.

About Noavaran Ensemble:
Noavaran Ensemble is a newly formed group of musicians (since 2009), and trained in Persian classical and folk music. Noavaran is in search of new sounds through fusion with other world-wide styles of music as well as the application of polyphony to this traditional style of music. Although Persian classical music has been mostly performed in a monophonic structure, it enjoys plethora nuances and a rich soul. The first performance of the group will be in March of 2010 at Adelphi University. This is a performance of a composition by renowned Iranian-American composer, Mr. Gregory H. Aslani, in conjunction with three accomplished contemporary musicians. This work is a fusion of Contemporary music with Persian Classical music. For more information about this piece, see the Beyond Solitude description.

... Payvand News - 02/18/10 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2010 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)