Iran News ...


Larijani retains post of Iran's Parliament Speaker

Source: Mehr News Agency

Ali Larijani, the uncontested candidate for the post of speaker, remained in his post as the speaker for the third time with 214 votes in favor and 44 abstentions.


The candidates for the post of deputy speakers were principlist MPs Mohammad Hassan Abutorabifard, Shahabeddin Sadr, and reformist MP Masoud Pezeshkian.

Abutorabifard and Sadr, an MP sitting on the health committee, succeeded to receive 188 and 145 votes respectively as the first and the second deputy speakers in the principlist-dominated parliament.

However, reformist MP Pezeshkian trailed behind Abutorabifard and Sadr with just 115 votes.

Abutorabifard has held the post of deputy speaker since the current parliament took office in 2008.

Masoud Pezeshkian, a former health minister in the Khatami administration, fielded his candidacy as senior MP Mohammad-Reza Bahonar did not run for the post of deputy speaker this time.

Bahonar, who had held the post of deputy speaker in the principlist-run parliament until this date, had failed to win the support of his faction in an informal voting prior to Wednesday's parliamentary meeting.

Iran's Parliament (Majlis)

Presiding board

MPs Mohsen Kouhkan, Ahmad Nateq-Nouri, and Mohammad Ashouri-Taziani were also elected as members of the presiding board.

Kouhkan won 160 votes, Nateq-Nouri 154 votes, and Ashouri-Taziani 203 out of 262 votes cast.

... Payvand News - 05/26/10 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2010 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)