Iran News ...


Sepahan wins Iran football championship for second time in a row

Source: Mehr News Agency, Isfahan; photos by Ehsan Khosravi

Sepahan is Iran Professional League champion

Sepahan of Isfahan on Sunday won the Iran Professional League (IPL) championship for the third time, becoming the most successful football team in Iran. Sepahan and Persepolis played out a goalless draw in Isfahan's Fooladshahr Stadium in front of about 12,000 spectators.

The Isfahan-based team claimed the title with 66 points with one week left while Persepolis is fourth with 55 points.

Sepahan had previously won the title two times in 2002-03 and 2009-10 seasons.

Iran giants Persepolis and Esteghlal each have won IPL title two times.

The Sepahan team praying at the stadium

Elsewhere, Esteghlal beat Malavan 2-0 thanks to goals from Arash Borhani and Hawar Mulla Mohammad at the Azadi Stadium. The Blues remains at the second place of the IPL standings table with 62 points.

Zob Ahan also defeated Naft of Tehran 2-0 in its away game. The Isfahan-based team is third in the table with 60 points.

Steel Azin was relegated from the Iranian league with a 6-1 home loss to Shahrdari of Tabriz.

Other results are as follow:
* Teraktorsazi 2 - Saipa 2
* Foolad 5 - Pas 2
* Mes 3 - Shahin 0
* Paykan 1 - Rah Ahan 0

... Payvand News - 05/16/11 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2011 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)