Iran News ...


Evolution" wins Grand Prix at 100 Intl. Film Festival

Source: Tehran Times; photos by Raouf Mohseni, Mehr News Agency

The Iranian animation "Evolution" by Mehdi Alibeigi won the Grand Prix of the animation section of the 8th 100 International Film Festival. The winners of the festival, which was held on February 23 and 24, were announced during a ceremony in the Andisheh Hall on Friday. (read detailed report in Persian by

The producer Abdollah Haji Mohammadi was awarded with the Grand Prix in the radio section of the event for his program "It is only the sound that remains".

In the international section, the Turkish director Ímer Mirac Tunc won the Best Fiction Film Award for "Nasip". The Islamic Awakening Award of the section went to "The Life by Her Hand" by Sally Abo Basha from Egypt.

Afghan director Mirwais Rikab won the Peace and Humanity Award of the festival for his film "Nedamat". The Best Animation Award of the festival went to Hyung Bum Moon's "Zipper".

The Best Animation Award of the national section of the gala went to Nima Meygoli for "I, as a Developing Iranian" while the documentary "Respect" by Ehsan Saeidi won the Best Documentary Award of the section.

The national section's Best Feature Film Award went to Ali Janeb-Elahi for his film "The Finger".

Jaleh Olov received an award for her lifetime achievements

Actor Ezzatollah Entezami (right) pesented the award to his colleague
Jaleh Olov

A total of 1898 filmmakers from 31 countries submitted 2089 films in the national and international sections of the festival out of which 133 films competed for the awards.

The radio section of the festival hosted 71 works out of 488 works submitted to the secretariat of the event.

Tehran's Art Bureau, the Islamic Culture and Relations Organization (ICRO) and several other organizations were among the cosponsors of the festival.

... Payvand News - 02/25/12 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2012 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)