Iran News ...


First Professor Aqabozorg Awards: Shahnameh experts honored

Source: Tehran Times; photos by Saeid Karimnejad, FARS_URL

The winners of the first edition of the Aqabozorg Awards, which are dedicated to experts on Iranian poet Ferdowsi and his epic masterpiece the Shahnameh (Book of Kings), were announced on Tuesday.

Scholars Azizollah Joveini, Fereidun Joneidi, Qadamali Serami and Mir Jalaleddin Kazzazi, and musician Shahain Farhat received the awards at the Academic Center for Education, Culture and Research in Tehran during a ceremony which was organized the Ferdowsi Foundation.

Joveini was awarded for the efforts he made compiling the 7-volume book "Correcting and Replacing the Obscure Words and Paraphrasing the Manuscript Version of the Shahnameh of the Florence Museum".

Joneidi received the award for 6-volume book "An Introduction to Editing the Shahnameh" and "Editing the Shahnameh".

Serami was honored for the book "From the Color of Flower to the Harm of Its Prickles: The Study of Form in the Shahnameh Stories".

Kazzazi received the award for "The Letter of the Ancients: Writing the Shahnameh".

Farhar was honored for the efforts he made in composing the symphonies for the Persian poets. His "Ferdowsi Symphony" was released in February.

The ceremony went on with unveiling "The Second Book of Ferdwosi Studies", a book which contains 40 articles by Iranian and foreign scholars about Ferdowsi and the Shahnameh.

The awards have been named after Professor Hossein Aqabozorg, one of the founding fathers of the Ferdowsi Foundation who died on March 7, 2011.

... Payvand News - 03/08/12 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2012 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)