Iran News ...


Sepahan clinches third consecutive Iran Professional League title

Source: Press TV; photos by Ehsan Khosravi, Mehr News Agency

Sepahan football club has managed to clinch the title for Iran's Professional League (IPL) for the third consecutive season despite being held to a goalless draw with Mes Sarcheshmeh.

Sepahan football players jubilate at Fouladshahr Stadium, Isfahan, on May 11, 2012, after winning their third consecutive Iran's Professional League (IPL) title.

The outfit went into the match at Isfahan's Fouladshahr Stadium on Friday, knowing that a draw would give them an unassailable lead at the top of the Iranian top-flight ahead of the chasing Tractorsazi and Esteghlal.

Tractorsazi secured the second place with a comfortable 2-0 victory over Malavan at Tabriz's Yadegar Emam Stadium, thanks to goals from Flavio Lopez and Mohammad Hasan Ebrahimi, which were both scored in the opening six minutes.

Esteghlal finished in the third place thanks to a 3-0 win over Naft at Tehran's Azadi Stadium, with Arash Borhani hitting a double and Goran Jerkovic the other.

At the other end of the table, Shahrdari Tabriz and Shahin Bushehr joined Mes Sarcheshmeh to become the three clubs relegated from the league.

Elsewhere, Mes Sarcheshmeh beat Zob Ahan 2-0, Saipa was held to a 2-2 draw by Sanat Naft, Fajr Sepasi and Saba played out to a goalless draw, Damash defeated Shahrdari Tabriz 2-1, and Rah Ahan outclassed Shahin Bushehr 4-1.

Meanwhile, Aluminum Hormozgan, Paykan, and Gahar Zagros secured a promotion to the league.


... Payvand News - 05/12/12 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2012 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)