Iran News ...


Iranian President Hassan Rohani Submits List Of Proposed Ministers To Parliament

Source: Tehran Times

Iranian President Hassan Rohani speaking at the Parliament

New Iranian president Hassan Rohani presented his list of proposed ministers to parliament on Sunday, the same day he was sworn in as the country's 7th president.  Parliament has to approve Rohani's nominations for cabinet. According to Parliament Speaker Ali Larijani, MPs will vote on the nominees next week. 

President Rohani hands his proposal to the Parliament Speaker Ali Larijani

Following is the list of candidates for ministerial posts: 

First vice president: Es'haq Jahangiri - Jahangiri served as minister of industries and mines under former reformist president Mohammad Khatami. He was also a member of parliament for two terms. 

Oil minister: Bijan Zangeneh: Zangeneh was appointed energy minister in the government of Mir-Hossein Mousavi. He also served as energy minister under former pragmatic president Akbar Hashemi-Rafsanjani. He was oil minister in Khatami's cabinet.  

Foreign minister: Mohammad Javad Zarif - Zarif, a U.S.-educated diplomat, formerly served as permanent representative of Iran to the United Nations. 

Intelligence minister: Ayatollah Mahmoud Alavi - Alavi is a former MP and is currently a member of the Assembly of Experts. 

Defense minister: Hossein Dehqan - Dehqan is currently the chairman of the political, defense, and security committee of the Expediency Council. 

Interior minister: Abdolreza Rahmani-Fazli - Rahmani-Fazli formerly served as a member of parliament. 

Minister of culture and Islamic guidance: Ali Jannati - Jannati formerly served as Iran's ambassador to Kuwait. He is the son of Guardian Council Chairman Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati. 

Energy minister: Hamid Chitchian: Chitchian formerly served as an MP. 

Minister of industry, mine, and trade: Mohammad Reza Nematzadeh - Nematzadeh is a former industries minister. 

Agriculture minister: Mahmoud Hojjati - Hojjati served as agriculture and transport ministers under Khatami. 

Transport and urban development minister: Abbas Akhoundi - Akhoundi served as housing and urban development minister under Rafsanjani. 

Education minister: Mohammad Ali Najafi - Najafi was education minister in Rafsanjani's cabinet. 

Justice minister: Mostafa Pourmohammadi - Pourmohammadi served as interior minister under Ahmadinejad and is currently the Inspectorate Organization director. 

Information and communications technology minister: Mahmoud Va'ezi - Va'ezi is a diplomat and engineer. He was adviser to Hassan Rohani in the presidential campaign.

Science, research, and technology minister: Jafar Mili-Monfared - Mili-Monfared is a professor of Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran Polytechnic). He was deputy science minister from 2003-2005. 

Economic affairs and finance minister: Ali Tayyebnia - Tayyebnia is an economics professor who specializes in monetary policies and economic planning. He was also the secretary of the government's economic commission.

Health minister: Hassan Qazizadeh-Hashemi - Qazizadeh-Hashemi is an eye specialist who was also advisor to health minister from 1997 to 2001. He also served as the dean of the medical faculty at the Medical University of Tehran. 

Cooperatives, labor, and social welfare minister: Ali Rabee'i - Ali Rabee'i is a social expert who served at the Supreme National Security Council. He was also social advisor to president Khatami.

The sports and youth minister: Massoud Soltanifar - He was the governor of Markazi, Gilan and Zanjanan provinces during the reigns of Rafsanjani and Khatami.

... Payvand News - 08/04/13 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2013 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)