Iran News ...


Iran v-ballers defeat Argentina in U21 World Championship

Source: Press TV

The Iranian national junior volleyball team has registered its second straight victory at the group stage of the FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship in Turkey. The Iranians shut out the Argentine side by 3-0 (25-19, 25-20, 25-18) at the Baskent Volleyball Hall in Ankara on Friday, and pleased the numerous Iranian fans on the stands.

Iranian national junior volleyball players

Pablo Koukartsev of Argentine topped the scorers' chart of the match with 10 points. Ghara Ebadipour and Javad Hosseinabadi contributed 9 points each to Iran's victory.

In its opening match at the tournament on Thursday, Iran defeated Estonia 3-1 (22-25, 25-11, 25-17, 25-22).

Estonia's great blocking efforts helped the team take control at the beginning and at the end of the first set. The 25-22 outcome of the first set in favor of Estonia prompted an immediate reaction from the Iranian team.

The Iranians established complete domination on court and closed the second set off at 25-11. The Estonian squad tried to fight back in the third set and almost caught up in the score, but their excessive unforced error in the conclusive moments enabled their opponents to win it by 25-17.

A fierce battle between Iran's continual attacks and Estonia's fantastic blocks marked the beginning of the fourth set. However, the European team could not hold on to it, which allowed Iran to achieve an incredible run towards the final 25-22.

Iran's Javad Hosseinabadi and Estonia's Renee Tepan became the top scorers of the match with 19 points each.

The FIVB Men's U21 World Championship opened in Turkey on August 22, and will wrap up on September 1.

The Baskent Hall in Ankara hosts Pool A and B matches, while the Pool C and D matches of the tournament take place at the Ataturk Volleyball Hall in Izmir.

The competition features a revised format having been expanded from 16 to 20 teams, made up of the hosts and 19 qualifiers, and will run over 10 days with two rest days.

The 20 teams are divided into four pools of five teams each and will play a round-robin tournament. The bottom-ranked team of each pool will play classification matches for 17th-20th place in a round-robin system.

Iran is in Pool B along with Argentina, Estonia, Japan and Mexico. China, Egypt, India, Morocco and Turkey form Pool A.

Canada, Rwanda, Serbia, Tunisia and the United States are in Pool C, while Brazil, France, Italy, Russia and Venezuela play in Pool D.

... Payvand News - 08/24/13 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2013 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)