Iran News ...


Iranian, Polish docs share top award at Cinema Verite

Source: Tehran Times; photos by Hemmat Khahi, ISNA

TEHRAN -- Polish filmmaker Maciej Drygas's "Abu Haraz" and Iranian director Mostafa Razzaq-Karimi's "Memories for All Seasons" have shared the Best Feature-Length Documentary Award in the international competition section of the Cinema Verite festival.


The winners of the 7th edition of Cinema Verite, the Iranian international festival for documentary films, were announced during a ceremony at Tehran's Vahdat Hall on Tuesday.

"Abu Haraz" is about a village of the same name in the desert of North Sudan, which will be flooded after a gigantic dam on the Nile River is completed.

"Memories for All Seasons" contains the memories of Iranian soldiers wounded by Iraqi chemical weapons during the 1980-1988 Iran-Iraq war.

The documentary also won the Grand Prix of the festival in the national competition section.

Iranian director Mostafa Razzaq-Karimi delivers his acceptance speech during the closing ceremony of the Cinema Verite festival in Tehran on December 17, 2013. Razzaq-Karimi and Polish filmmaker Maciej Drygas (1st from left) shared the best feature-length documentary award in the international section of the festival for "Memories for All Seasons" and "Abu Haraz".

The special jury award of the international feature-length section went to "The Act of Killing" by the Danish filmmaker Joshua Oppenheimer.

Semi-feature length and short documentaries also were honored in the international section of the festival.

"Woolen Doll" by Iranian director Ezzatollah Parvazeh won the best semi-feature length documentary award and the special jury prize of the section went to "Father and Son" by Polish filmmaker Pawel Lozinski.

In the short documentary section, the best documentary award went to "Slomo" by U.S. director Joshua Izenberg and the French documentarian Mina Rad won the special jury prize for her "For Me the Sun Never Sets".

At the national section, "Under the Shelter of Oak" by Mehdi Nur-Mohammadi was picked as the best feature-length documentary.

The semi-feature length documentary award of the section went to "No Honking Please!" by Reza Farahmand.

The celebrated filmmakers Nasser Taqvaii and Seyyed Hossein Bani-Hashemi also received lifetime achievement awards at the ceremony,.

... Payvand News - 12/20/13 ... --

comments powered by Disqus

Home | ArchiveContact | About |  Web Sites | Bookstore | Persian Calendar | twitter | facebook | RSS Feed

© Copyright 2013 NetNative (All Rights Reserved)