Bookmark and Share

Tehran municipal election winners announced


Source: Radio Zamaneh

The new list of Tehran City council members was announced on Monday, three days after the municipal elections were concluded on Friday. Iranian media published the list, which indicates that 13 reformists were elected to the council along with 18 conservative members and supporters of Mohammad Bagher Ghalibof, the Tehran mayor.

Source: Sharqh daily

The municipal elections were carried out under instructions from the elections supervisory board to disqualify any candidates linked to opposition leaders MirHosein Mousavi and Mehdi Karroubi.

Some prominent disqualified reformists were Massoumeh Ebtekar, Mohsen Hashemi and Abdolreza Davari.

Some of those elected to Tehran City Council
Source: Sharqh daily

The presidential election, however, was won by the only remaining reformist candidate, Hassan Rohani, who promised to establish more moderate policies in the political arena. For the first time, the municipal elections were carried out concurrently with the presidential election.



© Copyright 2013 (All Rights Reserved)