Bookmark and Share

Iran's 33rd Fajr Film Festival wraps up: "Crazy" wins Best Director and Best Film awards

02/13/15 Report by Mehr News Agency; photos by Islamic Republic News Agency

TEHRAN, Feb. 12 - The 33rd edition of Iran's Fajr International Film Festival has come to an end with "Crazy" by the renowned Abolhasan Davoodi winning the Best Director and the Best Film awards. Produced by Bita Mansuri, Crazy received 11 nominations, including best film, best director for Abolhassan Davudi, best actress for Tannaz Tabatabaii, best cinematographer, best screenplay and best music.

Cast and crew of "Crazy"

Iran’s Fajr Film Festival has reached its climax of the ten days of screening films today. This year women filmmakers had an impressive impact on the festival which led to praise from Iran’s Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance Ali Jannati; “women are a valuable part of the society especially in political, cultural and artistic arenas, and the cinema in particular,” he told Press TV.

Actress Sahar Doulatshahi posing for photographers

The 33rd Fajr International Film Festival International Film Festival was held in two competitive sections: Islamic and Asian Countries' Cinema (Eastern Panorama) and World Cinema (Salvation) and the non-competition section consisting of the screening of short films, documentaries, special screenings and Retrospective and side events which is holding the seminars and professional and artistic workshops.

The cinematic event was started in 1982 and takes place annually on the anniversary of Iran’s Islamic Revolution.

The international section of the festival will be held in April.

The jury’s panel for this year’s edition included Majid Majidi, Abdollah Eskandari, Mohammad Bozorgnia, Aziz Saati, Alireza Shojanoori, Javad Toosi, and Mahtab Nasirpour.

The followings are the winners of Crystal Simorgh for the national main competition section:

Best Film

Crazy produced by Bita Mansuri

Bita Mansuri, producer of "Crazy"

Best Director

Abolhasan Davoodi for Crazy

Abolhasan Davoodi, director of "Crazy"

Best Screenplay

A Time for Love by Roya Mohaghegh

Best Main Role Actor

Saeed Aghakhani for The Long Farewell

Saeed Aghakhani

Best Main Role Actress

Baran Kousari for Binam Alley

Baran Kousari

Best Supporting Role Actor

Houman Seyyedi for I Am Diego Maradona

Houman Seyyedi

Best Supporting Role Actress

Sahar Doulatshahi for The Ice Age

Sahar Doulatshahi

Crazy (Rokhe Divaneh) trailer


© Copyright 2015 (All Rights Reserved)